Soup’s up, again!

Another Sunday night, another batch of homemade soup. I had some vegetables that I wasn’t sure how to use up and I just really wanted soup (when don’t I!?) so they all went in to my chicken and vegetable soup. Another really simple recipe – I don’t do complicated – and it makes about 4 portions, so I had it for dinner and have some for lunch today.

Ingredients:
1 x medium potato, diced
2 x parsnips, diced
1 x large carrots, diced
1 litre hot water
2 x Chicken stockpots
3 or 4 boneless chicken thighs, cut into pieces
2 x tsp chives

  • Chop and peel all of the veggies and the chicken
  • Add the stock and water
  • Simmer for 30-40 mins, or until the veggies are soft
  • Add the chives, give it a stir and serve

Perfect comfort food for this time of year, or any time of year – you know my feelings towards soup. I should probably be more adventurous with my food and recipes, but chicken soup is an oldie and a goodie, so why get fancy when old school works so well? 🙂

p.s. being the greedy guts I am, I forgot to take a snap of the soup 😐 so the pic here is just for decoration 😉

Leave a Reply

