Soup’s up!

During Autumn and Winter, I love me a big bowl of soup for lunch or dinner. My colleagues at work often comment about my love for soup and ask ‘soup again for lunch Marie?’ and my response is usually ‘hell yes, I love soup!!’

So over the weekend, I had a real hackerin’ for some homemade soup, so I popped over to the shops, bought some bits and made a big batch, here’s the recipe:

Spiced butternut squash and carrot soup

1 x butternut squash
4 x carrots
1 x red chilli
3 x stock cubes/stock pots
Enough water to cover all the veggies
A big pinch of cumin
Sprinkle of chives for decoration

  1. Top and tail the squash, cut it in half width ways so you have a long piece and a ball-shaped piece. Cut the ‘ball’ in half, scoop out the seeds and carefully cut the skin off by following the curves of the veg closely with a sharp knife.
  2. Take the longer part of the squash and cut the skin off that too. Roughly dice both sections and put into a large saucepan
  3. Top and tail the carrots. Peel (if you want to), dice and add to the saucepan.
  4. Cut the top off the chilli, cut in half and deseed. Dice and add to the saucepan.
  5. Add water to the saucepan, enough to cover all the veg.
  6. Stir in vegetable stock – I used 3 Knorr stock pots but probably could have done with 2.
  7. Leave to simmer until all veg is soft enough to crush with a spoon
  8. Take off the heat, add the cumin and blend to your desired consistency. I like mine pretty smooth but you can keep it chunky if you prefer.
  9. Serve in a bowl, add your sprinkle of chives and enjoy!

This recipe made about 2 litres worth of tasty soup, so that’s a few days worth of lunches sorted for me!
Let me know in the comments if you have any easy soup recipes, I’m always looking for a new flavour to try 🙂

One thought on “Soup’s up!

Leave a Reply

