Why read when you can listen?

I used to be a total bookworm when I was younger. I remember going to bed, grabbing a torch and reading books under my covers for what seemed like hours, or hiding away for the afternoon in the bottom of my wardrobe with my duvet to read the latest Tracy Beaker adventure. I loved books, but as I’ve grown up I’ve found less time for reading which is a shame, as it used to be such a big part of my life.

I’d heard a lot about audio books but never thought they’d be right for me. I have a Kindle which, yes I could use more, but when I do get into the habit of using it, I fall back in love with it. It’s great for holidays, slim-line and light weight – great. Audio books just seemed…. strange. Why would I *listen* to a book?! You listen to music, you READ books. End. Of. That was until I heard about Audible.com

It’s an Amazon company where you get a free 30 day trial and it’s only £7.99 thereafter. At the end of each month you are given 1 credit (with the option to buy more whenever you want) which can be redeemed against any, yes ANY, book they have available. If you don’t want to continue after the 30 days, remember to cancel your subscription or you may be charged.

I’d just finished watching Park & Recreation, so was completely in love with Amy Poehler, which meant I had to get her book ‘Yes Please’ with my first free credit. Immediately I was hooked. She narrates the book so it made it even more enjoyable, and listening to someone tell their story in the way they wanted it to be read was great. It’s funny, crude, sweet and loving – you won’t want to stop listening until it’s over, and even then you’ll want more!

I’m currently listening to ‘Bossy Pants’ by Tina Fey, and I’m loving that too.

So there you go, a 2-in-1, a great service to sign up to and a great book to purchase through it.

http://www.audible.co.uk/

What was your favourite book growing up, or now? Mine was the Biff and Chip series – yeah, old school, I know 🙂

One thought on “Why read when you can listen?

  1. Audiobooks are great for when you have long journeys or on a long walk – also, if you’re inclined and have iTunes, you should look up some of the great podcasts that are available for free. My favourite is Radiolab, which covers weird and wonderful stories centred around a scientific theme, but they’re so interesting and the style is very unique with well-placed sound effects and music. It sounds cheesy but give it a try, I’m hooked!

    H x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

